Home

What Panic Attacks Teach You About Life

November 5, 2013

Thought Catalog

I could be in my living room. I could be on a bus. Sometimes I’m in my bedroom. Sometimes I’m at my desk. The location matters less than the event, itself. The event? A panic attack.

A panic attack is a period of fear or apprehension, brought on suddenly with or without apparent cause. While the phrase is sometimes used colloquially to refer to smaller worries (“you almost gave me a panic attack!”), an actual panic attack is something much more debilitating.

The other night, I had one of these panic attacks. Over the years, I’ve learned that the best way for me to overcome these is simply to let them play out. As I felt one coming on, I decided to start writing down my thoughts and feelings. Since I was headed into this, anyway, I figured that it might make some interesting post-attack reading. Without further ado, here’s…

View original post 519 more words

One Response to “What Panic Attacks Teach You About Life”

  1. Natalie Eva Says:

    I read your article on Huff Po, and brava! I love how you use humor to debunk the BS that the right always uses to try and attack us. Props.


Leave a Reply

