Home

Vacation, bathing suit, anxiety

July 9, 2013

I traveled to Michigan this past weekend with my girlfriend and one of our other friends. We stayed at our friend’s family’s lakeside cottage. We had a lot of fun. I wore a bathing suit (top) in public for the first time ever. That was… that was an intense feeling. There were certain very familiar events during this vacation: Driving 8 hours both ways, spending days on the lake, watching fireworks, window shopping in tourist-filled towns; it all began to remind me of my own childhood vacations.

This bit of nostalgia, mixed with my usual bouts of anxiety, drove my mind and my mood into a negative space. This led to me becoming a little distant from my group in the final few days of vacation.

1005607_171693189670222_233183572_nIn the days since I’ve returned home, I’ve been giving more thought to what exactly was driving my mood and anxiety during the trip. The more I think about it, the more I come to this conclusion: So badly, I want to be a mother. So badly, I want to be able to give birth (though, I know this is impossible, given my lack of a uterus and whatnot). I want to take a son or daughter on vacations like that. When it comes down to it, I will never truly be a mother. I may someday be a parent, but would I ever have a kid that recognized me as their mother? I just… I just don’t think so.

I know for a fact that I could never be a father to a child, in the “doing father-type stuff” kind of way. If I have a kid, I want to be the best and most loving mother I could be. I want to shower my child with motherly love. I’m afraid that, even if I ended up parenting a child, I wouldn’t be treated as anything but a father or just awkward 2nd parent, and not truly a mother.

This worry is the same worry I have in regards to marriage. I cannot be a husband. I worry that, in the event that I get married, all the outdated wedding rituals (like “the man is supposed to propose“) and splits on who pays for what would default to me being “the husband.” Thinking about it makes me sick to my stomach.

These things just worry me. I’m just afraid that in some of the most intimate and important aspects of my life, I’ll never be viewed as a woman, but rather just a super-feminine man. That’s just… that’s not me. I’m not a super-feminine man. I’m a woman. I’m just as much of a woman as anyone else.

These thoughts came up as I approach the 9 month mark on hormone replacement therapy. As that’s the typical pregnancy length, I guess I had babies on the mind. Anyway, here’s a timeline I made.

21 Responses to “Vacation, bathing suit, anxiety”

  1. gingerreplicant Says:

    Great timeline photos. I’ve sent this to a young trans woman friend on FB to inspire her 🙂


  2. Thanks in favor of sharing such a nice opinion, post iss fastidious, thats why i have read iit entirely


  3. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.

    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  4. Adalberto Says:

    It’s going to be end of mine day, however before finish I am reading
    this great piece of writing to improve my know-how.

  5. Dominic Says:

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!

    Very useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care
    for such information much. I was seeking this certain info for
    a long time. Thank you and best of luck.


  6. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I to find It
    truly useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to give one thing again and help others such as you helped me.


  7. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme
    in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable information to work on. You have done an impressive job and our
    whole community will be thankful to you.

  8. Marlene Says:

    What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this web page daily, this
    site is genuinely fastidious and the viewers are in fact sharing
    good thoughts.


  9. Why users still use to read news papers when in this technological world all is available on net?


  10. When deciding upon which kit and you basal body temperature can dip the tip of the Brooklyn District Attorney’s office.
    Women who receive a negative result basal body temperature when you
    take the test for you. While medication can take a pregnancy test,
    but many times unreliable – that’s why he dead right now?


  11. Can I just say what a comfort to uncover someone that genuinely understands what they’re discussing
    on the internet. You certainly realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.

    More people really need to check this out and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised that you are not more popular because you most
    certainly have the gift.


  12. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show
    up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say superb blog!


  13. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enoiugh for me.

    In myy opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much mre useful than ever before.


  14. Excellent wayy of telling, and good paragraph to obtain informatio concerning my presentation subject matter, which i am going to deliver
    in academy.


  15. This looks similar to my shower i actually purchased only recently, very pleased with it for individuals upon the fence with regards to purchasing one,
    do it now, you wont be sorry


  16. Appreciating the hard work you put into your blog and in depth information you offer.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once
    in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material.
    Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to
    my Google account.


  17. System kontroli wycieku wody Posejdon służy do wczesnego wykrywania i lokalizacji nieszczelności w systemie
    domów, mieszkań i instalacji przemysłowych.

    System blokuje przepływ wody, aby wyeliminować przyczyny nieszczelności i informuje
    o tym wypadku.


  18. Today’s movie stars and models all seem to have perfectly white teeth making the
    rest of us strive forr the same perfection. The use of clear transparent trays inside the
    mouth aligns the teeth perfectly in a more aesthetic manner.
    Laser Teeth whitening are affordable choices for you, if you have
    smallish budget.

  19. fused quartz Says:

    7%, Zengjiazhilv and value of profit rates were 33. Seeds are numerous, dark
    brownish and ellipsoid in shape and embedded in pulp.

    “One of Industrial – MRO’s commitments this year is to publish one of the more extensive glassworks offerings on the Web with offerings from domestic and national glass manufactures and fabricators serving various industries from building & construction to automotive, boiler tubing, medical, retail stores, commercial building, safety and other applications,” said Adams.


  20. What’s up, I desire to subscribe for this web site to obtain most recent updates, so where can i do it please assist.


  21. Very shortly this web page will be famous amid all blogging
    and site-building users, due to it’s good posts


Leave a Reply

