Home

[what a week]

February 2, 2013

Wow! What a week this was. 0 to 60 in no time. It really got started last Tuesday at my annual performance review at work.

I went into this review thinking, “well, as least once this is over with, I won’t have to worry about me being trans affecting the review.” I received an extremely positive review, and as it concluded, my manager asked if there was anything I’d like to add or discuss. Without giving it a 2nd thought, I said, “so there’s something I’ve been meaning to tell you, but haven’t known how to say it: I’m transgender, and I’m in the process of transitioning from male to female. (I hate saying that I’m “transitioning” from and to something, but for the sake of explanation, this phrasing seems to work best)” A shocked look was on my managers’ faces, when finally, one of them said, “that’s wonderful. ” I went on to tell them my rough plan for workplace transition, and they let me know that I could come to them for help.

Over the next 3 days, I came out to 3 more co-workers (2 in upper management, 1 peer). Reactions were very generally positive, with a mention of “let me know if there’s anything I can do” with each self-outing. (Sure there were moments where incorrect terms were used by my co-workers, but when speaking to people completely unfamiliar with trans issues, that needs to be forgiven)

I now have a meeting scheduled with our human resources department on Monday, where I’ll outline my thoughts on my timeline for transition. I’m nervous, yet excited.

I also met with a new psychiatrist last week. He’s a huge improvement over my last doc. He was quick to learn names/pronouns. Together, we worked on a strategy to take on lingering mental health/anxiety issues with the help of medication.

Finally, this morning, I stumbled out of bed, wandered down to the pharmacy to fill my new prescriptions. The pharmacist said, “dropping off, miss?” I reply, “yeah.” I hand her my prescription. She then asks me for an ID, and if I have the same last name and [birth name].” Stunned that I was still passing, I handed her my ID, assuming that would out me. Not the case! She said, “oh great! You brought his ID.” AMAZING.

I went to pay, and was asked if I could confirm [birth name]’s date of birth.

Yes. Yes, I can.

One Response to “[what a week]”


  1. Congrats on all of this. I had to supply my HR department with some guidelines for transgender employees. If you find yourself in the same boat, the federal government has good guidelines on its website and the Human Rights Campaign has a good booklet for helping others understand.


Leave a Reply

