Home

[and let the “coming out tour” begin]

October 26, 2012

In the past two days, I’ve come out to a total of 3 people: my brother, a cis male former co-worker, and a cis female friend of mine from college.

All responses have been universally positive.

For weeks, I’ve been trying to tell my brother, going so far as to tell him I’ve been meeting up at a trans-specific group on a fairly regular basis (somehow, that didn’t raise any red flags for him…). Finally, last night, I just asked him if he could talk to me outside for a minute, and said:

So, I’ve been meaning to tell you this thing about myself. For the past several months, I’ve been wrestling with it especially hard, and it’s something I’ve felt to some extent since I was 10 or 11: I’m transgender.

I then went on to give him a small amount of background on what I’ve gone through so far in terms of therapy and hormones.

He took it all in, and then he simply said:

Okay. Thanks. Great. I’m happy for you.

Perfect!

As far as the two friends I came out to, I did that online. The male former co-worker gave me about the best answer I could have expected from him:

*Lengthy pause* Thank you for feeling like you could share this with me. Not much changes for me. You’re my friend.

The response I got from the female friend of mine really made my day (shortened for brevity & privacy-sake):

Homegirl! …I have so much to say to this…. I’ll respond ASAP, but know this: I’m so proud of you.

My heart feels so full with happiness right now.

This makes me feel like I’m making some true progress, feeling like my true self to more of the world. I can’t stop now, though! So many more people to tell!

Leave a Reply

