Home

You’re the pride and joy of Illinois

August 18, 2012

My parents were in town earlier in the week for dinner. As much as I want to just pull off the “coming out” band-aid, I’m struggling to. They made a couple comments about my hair being long (it’s longer than it’s probably ever been), and while that may have been a good segue into coming out to them, I was interrupted by my dad, throwing the most masculine-possible thing at me:

“I have two tickets to the Bears game on Saturday night. Here, you can have them.”

I’m thinking that, “thanks for the football tix, dad; btw, I’ma chick, k?” might have been a strange response, so I just thanked him for the tickets, and decided that I’ll work on coming out to them another time. Foiled!

And don’t get me wrong, it was a really nice gesture of him. I’m huge into analytics, statistics, and just numbers in general, and that’s why I’ve always been intrigued by sports of all sorts. Statistics, probability, it’s all built in. That sort of stuff = awesome. People hitting each other = ehhh….

Leave a Reply

